Saturday, November 22, 2008

Confederations Cup draw

Remember Benny Feilhaber's goal against Mexico in the 2007 Gold Cup final?

Well, it was that strike that led to the United States' participation in the 2009 Confederations Cup.

And here is how the groups look:

Group A
1. South Africa
2. Iraq
3. New Zealand
4. Spain

Group B
1. United States
2. Italy
3. Brazil
4. Egypt

The US will have an extremely tough go at it. The U.S. gets Italy, Brazil and Egypt. The US and New Zealand were the last two balls in their pot and with Group A featuring South Africa, Iraq and Spain, the US missed out on the chance to join that group and will instead play the last two World Cup champions.

June 14 - US vs Italy
June 17 - US vs Brazil
June 20 - US vs Egypt

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Wow. I was just thinking the other day that the US always gets the "groups of death." This just confirms my thoughts. We are cursed.